Hello, I'm Carmel.

Learn Chinese Online Forums Member Introductions Hello, I'm Carmel.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

I live in an isolated rural area in Australia. In 2006 I was invited to tag along on a business trip to China. After sitting through hours of meetings that were all in Mandarin, I decided it would be an amazing language to learn!
    I started with the Pimsleur course which I really enjoyed. I then did 5 semesters as an external student at a university. I did a lot of reading and writing, some listening, and almost no speaking while at uni, so I gave that up and didn’t go back to complete the 3 year course. Instead, I found ChineseLearnOnline. Of course I was able to rush through the first 100 or more lessons, but they then became very challenging. I have been doing them now for more than 3 years, and they have really helped my listening and speaking skills. I do a lot of shadow talking with the dialogues. I’m up to lesson 397, but I don’t have much time to study at the moment, so it takes me ages to do each lesson. However I really love having it there to do whenever I have a spare moment, and I will get to lesson 420! I think I will then move onto Chinese newspapers. I also like reading easy Mandarin novels, and talking with Chinese friends on Skype.

Adam (Admin)
    Keymaster

Thanks! Pimsleur was one of the influences for the CLO course, as I really liked their progressive method.

Wow, that’s very impressive that you’ve almost made your way through the entire course!

What is the approach you take for each CLO lesson? Do you follow along with the transcript as you listen, or listen only?

Do you do all activities for each lesson?

Hello Adam.
    Over the years that I’ve been learning from CLO I’ve changed my methods of working through each lesson. There are so many options!